Hassle in Gondar and Debark

A female reader writes:

At the risk of coming across quite harshly, in 10 years of travelling (except maybe in India), I have never experienced so much hassle as in Gondar and Debark (I am in Aksum now which seems quieter, hoping for the best). I am a single female, and guys in Gondar would constantly wave and shout at me, often from a distance of 25 metres. If i chose to ignore them, since it was a regular occurrence , many would get really angry at me and curse me. When walking alone after sunset and passing cafes or restaurants, guys waved me to their tables and a couple got up to follow me when I ignored it, explaining me how to behave in a foreign country. Conversations with Peace Corps volunteers and a bunch of other travellers confirned this, although I feel being alone in the streets aggravated the problem (and yes, i was dressed modestly).

In Debark, while it was a bit less aggressive, I had men constantly follow me as well, usually until one so-called guide pretended to come to my rescue, explaining how dangerous/annoying the situation was. I never felt seriously threatened though. However, having a few hundred people shout at you in one day, hardly ever accepting the “thanks a lot, i am ok/dont want to…” has certainly tainted my experience. As a consequence, I will head back to Kenya, where people treated me very much with respect and a smile on their faces. Weirdly enough, I found people in Addis Ababa much more friendly and willing to help!

Sorry that turned into quite a story. But I just wish someone had me prepared for this hazzle, apart from the begging children who occasionally try to snatch your bag or the often rude customer service, that, all of which were to be expected, so maybe this is useful to others. Might also be connected to the fact that it is the low season and i have not seen too many other tourists around.

(PS – Sorry for the typos, still getting used to my little keyboard!)

Leave a Reply

