Mount Kundudo trip report

Ulrike writes:

When I travelled to Harar I was happy to read about Mt. Kundudo as a day trip – but as I headed for Fugnan Bira, it took me more then 4 hours with the local bus (no minibusses available!!!) – because its uphill and the engine worked poorly – also because I waited very long for take off, seems that there are very very few busses daily directly to Fugnan Bira, but all the minibusses head for a town (I forgot the name) in between, where changing minibusses to Fugnan Bira would be the by far faster option then taking the big and old local bus directly from harar. In any case I think its not possible to do Mt Kundudo as a day trip, because from Fugnan Bira you have to take a Bajaj for at least 1 hour (I don’t know why but the guy took me for free, therefore I don’t know the price) to the foot of Mt Kundudo, from there it will be another 2 hours untill the top – which I didn’t reach, because I arrived in Fugnan Bira at 2 pm and didn’t have enough time left – of course I spend the night in Fugnan Bira, there is only one basic hotel, to my information (30 Birr). The two days were really beautiful apart from the stone throwing, which I experienced throughout the country as a female solo traveller who never gives money to children…

4 thoughts on “Mount Kundudo trip report

  1. Vigano says:

    Ulrike, getting to the top is just one hour, if you have your own vehicle and climb the most spectacular way up, from Bedada. It is possible and rather easy to hike a lift directly to Bedada on the many light trucks that pass to Somaliland via the Bedada Pass. A matter of patience, and, possibly of a good local guide. They should not have let you miss the pest rock paintings in Ethiopia, Goda Rorisoo, for exmpale, 5 minutes bajaj and 45 min fantastic trek from Fugnan Bira or Gursum, and at least shown you the entry to the rather difficult, but fantastic cave, the Gursum Pearl, The once feral horse pack is in Bedada, practically captive, but they are there and have an extraordinary history to tell.

    • philipbriggs says:

      Hi Vigano, do you have an email address where I can contact you? Ot could you email me at phil[at]philipbriggs.com? I’d love to get more accurate info about routes to Kundudo first hand fir the Bradt Guide…

  2. Gursum says:

    Ulrike,
    We appreciate sharing your experience in Gursum, from the community point of view, we took your comment and are discussing it on Gursum forum how to make things better. Mr. Vigano’s comment is indeed help full as he is passionate exploring there and frequent traveller. Indeed there are so many amazing thing to discover yet.
    Here are clips of video From Kundudo if you haven’t seen it yet.

    • philipbriggs says:

      Gursum, do you have an email address where I can contact you? Or could you email me at phil[at]philipbriggs.com? I’d love to get more accurate info about routes to Kundudo first hand for the Bradt Guide…

Leave a Reply

