First ecolodge scheduled to open in Bale NP in 2013

Posted: November 17, 2012 in Bale Mountains

Guy Levene writes:

I am a British investor in Ethiopia and I am building the Bale Mountain Lodge, a new Eco Safari lodge in the Bale Mountains National Park of S Central Ethiopia. We have obtained a 45 year lease and the first government issued conservation concession agreement and we are working closely with the Ethiopian Wildlife Conservation Authority. The Lodge will have 15 rooms and will be the highest quality lodge in the country. My wife and I will be living on site and we shall manage conservation related activities in order to provide our guests with an intellectually stimulating and relaxing experience. Our website, www.balemountainlodge.com is up and running and construction started 2 weeks ago. Our target ‘soft opening’ date is July 2013 and we shall be fully operational after the 2013 rains sometime around Oct 2013.

I am keen for people to realise that the Bale Mountain Lodge is not the poor quality government run building at Dinsho but will be in the Katcha Clearing of the Harenna Forest, 5km south of Rira on the road towards Dolo Mena.

Comments
  1. Jan Slingerland says:

    Bale is very nice, maybe the nicest wildlife-location in Ethiopia. I heard the road from Shashemene is paved now all the way to Robe, which should make access from Addis easily possible in one day driving. Bale has a couple of unique ecological, is scenic and has serious wildlife numbers. I hope tourism will contribute to the preservation of this beautifull Park.

  2. Abdurehman says:

    Hi mr Guy Really it is Great work thank u for investing in my country. This type of work provide us job oppurtunity I am. One of those seek job in your lodge. Thank u from delo mena

  3. Beketa Abdulwehab says:

    Hello! I’m Beketa.I’m a Manager of Harenna Tour Guide Association .I’m very contented about the lodge. Really It was a deadlock for several years. But now , the key problem has already been solved by the change maker .I wanna say ance again,Thank you very much!.

  4. Ayuba Ahmed says:

    hi guy it is very nice for as and i am very happy to working with u and ur lodge . I am working with nyala guide association and some tours agency . So nice to working together keep tech contact ! Thank for all

Leave a Reply

